BT Home Monitor - » BT Home Monitor Alarm VP1000 Reviews Write review

9 unique reviews
RATED Average Rating (by 9 users)
FEATURES  rated 3/5   INSTALLATION  rated 3/5   QUALITY  rated 3/5   RELIABILITY  rated 3/5   VALUE  rated 3/5  
DESCRIPTION
Complete home protection system that alerts customers to potential emergencies, with wireless sensors linked to an Internet monitoring service. The monitoring service sends alerts via text message, email and fixed line phone within the UK when triggered by a security incident. On this website you can read and write BT Home monitor alarm VP1000 system reviews, ratings and recommendations. Search and find or add views and advice from the best burglar alarm installers and DIY home security users in our easy to use UK review forum website. > Click on the links below to review this burglar alarm system
WEBSITE
Write a Review
# 2012/03/22 User rated 2/5
Review by guest

Beware no external siren

I had a BT home monitor in my last house. There was no external siren not even a dummy decoy one. So in other words an intruder would not know you had an alarm until they had broke in! Seems a bit pointless to me.

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 2/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 2/5
QUALITY -  rated 2/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 2/5
VALUE -  rated 1/5
Was this helpful?
49% said yes.           
# 2011/12/18 User rated 3/5
Review by Alan Commes

Out of date and not supported

The BT home monitor is out of date, no longer supported. The only places selling it have stock 4 plus years old. Better to go for a new alarm that has a future.

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 2/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 3/5
QUALITY -  rated 3/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 3/5
VALUE -  rated 3/5
Was this helpful?
56% said yes.           
# 2011/10/03 User rated 3/5
Review by John Collins

Still on ebay!

I got one from ebay. I had  a BT home monitor alarm in my last house so wanted something that I had faith in. I would recommend  one especially if you can get one off ebay for around 100 pound. Easy to install and does the job. Only down side is the outdoor alarm bellbox is not a working one but a dummy one. 

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 3/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 3/5
QUALITY -  rated 2/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 3/5
VALUE -  rated 4/5
Was this helpful?
56% said yes.           
# 2011/07/12 User rated 3/5
Review by Web buyer

No longer in production!

The BT home monitor is a good but dated system. Having not changed since 2004 the control panel now seems large and out dated with only a very small LCD readout section.The BT home monitor is no longer produced although you may still find them kicking about on discount stores and auction websites. Not future proof and no spare parts going forward. 

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 3/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 4/5
QUALITY -  rated 3/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 4/5
VALUE -  rated 3/5
Was this helpful?
56% said yes.           
# 2011/05/10 User rated 4/5
Review by guest

BRILLIANT ALARM SYSTEM!

We bought our BT Home Monitor when we moved into our new house in Dec 2005 - we have been using it ever since then and absolutely love it! It is 100% reliable, easy to use, continually monitored by BT for less than £5 per month and easy to purchase extra items such as sensors, keyfobs etc. Also the previous reviewer is incorrect - you can have a live external siren / bellbox with the system - we have had one since we bought it and it is brilliant. I cannot recommend it enough!!

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 5/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 5/5
QUALITY -  rated 5/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 5/5
VALUE -  rated 5/5
Was this helpful?
51% said yes.           
# 2011/02/21 User rated 3/5
Review by guest

Good: Price / Bad: No Siren

Good value basic alarm system comes with a tried and tested control panel from Visconic who have updated their system. Easy to install as the BT home monitor uses a template automatic installation of the detectors that come with the kit. The keyfob remote is tiny so this does not get in the way when on a keyring and can be used to arm and dis-arm the system.I am not sure how long BT will provide the monitoring for the BT home monitor as I cannot see it on the BT website anymore. The biggest draw back of this alarm is that it does not have a working siren / Bellbox for the outside of the house. An external alarm box is really required for an burglar alarm to be effective as a deterrent to intruders.

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 3/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 3/5
QUALITY -  rated 4/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 3/5
VALUE -  rated 4/5
Was this helpful?
51% said yes.           
# 2010/06/26 User rated 3/5
Review by James Mclean

BT home monitor VP1000

I bought the BT home monitor online around 4 weeks ago. A PIR broke during installation and the keyfob would not connect to the control panel. It took around 6 days to get fully up and running. Not sure I bought the right alarm system now. The system left a bit of a doubt with me.

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 4/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 4/5
QUALITY -  rated 2/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 2/5
VALUE -  rated 3/5
Was this helpful?
47% said yes.           
# 2010/04/16 User rated 4/5
Review by Nick Murray

Close to top marks

I have found the BT home monitor to be great value and it has worked fine for me. I have needed extra parts too and although BT dont supply them they are easy to find from online suppliers. This alarm is very easy to use and install. Close to top marks from me.

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 4/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 3/5
QUALITY -  rated 4/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 5/5
VALUE -  rated 4/5
Was this helpful?
52% said yes.           
# 2009/11/04 User rated 3/5
Review by Jack Henry

Good alarm from BT

I bought I BT home monitor system around 3 years ago. It worked fine until the control panel packed in this week with the LCD display not working. I contacted BT for a replacement but they told me they dont supply this system anymore. So I found this website while researching for a replacement alarm system. Pity BT doesnt do the home monitor anymore as it was a good alarm.

User Rating
FEATURES -  rated 4/5
INSTALLATION -  rated 4/5
QUALITY -  rated 3/5
RELIABILITY -  rated 2/5
VALUE -  rated 4/5
Was this helpful?
51% said yes.           

Search

GOT AN OPINION? REVIEW!

Return to BT Home Monitor - Reviews